The internal fight for greatness: are you hot, cold, or just lukewarm?

“Appreciation for discipline that is greater than my desire for leisure”

Greatness (or even desired goodness) can rarely be achieved without a measure of self-discipline. We all want and need leisure time, but those who stand head and shoulders above others almost universally have something in common. They are willing to sacrifice some of their precious leisure time for those things that help them grow mentally, physically, spiritually, and emotionally.

How do you identify with the following saying,

people want to go to heaven but they don’t want to die?

Are you willing to make the sacrifices now to enjoy the fruit of your labor later? Life is fair: work hard now and play later, or play now and work later.

About The Intuitive Group, Inc.

The Intuitive Group, Inc. is a privately owned company that performs sales, client acquisitions, and retention for Fortune 100 companies. We perform face-to-face sales and customer service with the small to mid-sized customers of our Fortune 100 clients; a proven method for winning new customers. Direct mail, telemarketing, and media advertising fail while our approach to sales achieves a success rate unheard of in other marketing strategies.

3 responses to “The internal fight for greatness: are you hot, cold, or just lukewarm?”

  1. Jenna says :

    I don’t think that in order to achieve greatness one must make sacrifices of their leisure time. Rather, I believe that leisure time is vital in order to help one develop into a healthy, well-rounded individual such that it is possible to become a successful individual. Many people place such a large percentage of their efforts on working and their attempt to get far in life that they sacrifice time with friends and family. I know I am going to die one day, but I do not want to die thinking that I have spent so much effort on the career aspect of my life and not on my own personal well being. I might die in 20 years, or I might die tomorrow. I want to die feeling as though I have lived my life to the fullest. This means finding balance between both professional and personal lives and determining what is the most important to you.

    • intuitivegroup says :

      Thanks Jenna. I understand your perspective and couldn’t agree more. There has to be a balance because too much work will lead to a burn out which I have done before, therefore I see and cherish the value of setting aside leisure time to spend with my family and friends. There’s this story you might have heard which teaches me something new every time i read it; -There was a rich man who had much money. He said, ‘I shall put my money to use so that I may sow, reap, plant, and fill my storehouse with produce, with the result that I shall lack nothing.’ Such were his intentions, but that same night he died. This just confirms what you said that life is short and that you “do not want to die thinking that I have spent so much effort on the career aspect of my life and not on my own personal well being.” I mean it’s ok to work hard that’s having good work ethics, but not to the point that one becomes greedy, that’s not good. Thanks for your input, would definitely like to hear more from you!

Leave a Reply

